This chalks one up for the I was right even when I was wrong category.
In my Stock Shaming - It's Bad to be the King post I opined on succumbing to my irrational contrarian view to Jim Cramer's condescension on the morning of the King Digital Entertainment IPO (KING). But then it was brought to my attention that two weeks prior Jim Cramer had wholly endorsed the IPO and encouraged his "Cramericans" to get a piece of the IPO if they could. On his show on 3/14 Cramer with his sleeves rolled up was enthusiastically recommending the King Digital IPO as long as it didn't price "way above" the high-end of the anticipated range ($24).
Cut to the morning of the IPO where he is on CNBC's market coverage in his business suit. Outside the gated walls of Cramerica and in front of real business people he tempers his position.
"There's a bull case and a bear case, but it is certainly not $ZNGA" - @jimcramer, on $KING @CNBC
— Carl Quintanilla (@carlquintanilla) March 26, 2014
And then as the numbers start to roll in and prove him undeniably on the wrong side of the trade he starts to walk back his original position.
'@jimcramer likes $KING at the IPO price, but adds: "Ppl will say [the IPO boom] had to end .. and it ended with King Digital'". @CNBC
— Carl Quintanilla (@carlquintanilla) March 26, 2014
By the end of the day ending with language sounding like he had called it all along. Oh and he's too good for the Candy Crush festivities.
Those little Candy Crush "animals" are egging me on. They want a beatdown and they may get it. Stay of my zone you beasts
— Jim Cramer (@jimcramer) March 26, 2014
I agree it was a circus; but it's a bit pot-calling-kettle for the man biting foam bears and banging a gong every time he says China during his stock picking show to be so above a cartoony gaming company trying to drum up some atmosphere.And did he do a mea culpa and dissect his "error" on the show to his adoring fans? Did the boo-yiddiots call him out?
Nope.
Hardly a peep is ever uttered about KING again other then to use it as an example of how we may be at a frothy top of the market on a bad market day (or qualified as "in some sectors" on a good market day) which is his new flip-floppy mantra; or if he's railing about investment bankers and how ridiculous it was to allow the King IPO (because he's such a rebel and outsider). Oh really, two weeks ago you were crowing about how sane it was and that the market had learned it's lesson.
Maybe you are the problem, Jim. You are coming close to sounding like Kevin Trudeau wailing about the "stock cures they don't want you to know about".*1
Jim Cramer doesn't go back and address most of his daily bad calls. The ones he does are usually done specifically to promote some new book or article on his paid sites. Much like the way you use a negtive that actually makes you look good in an interview. "My biggest flaw is that sometimes I just work too hard, 12 hours go by and I don't even realize I need to eat."
Mad Money is little more than a hype machine for the CEOs he brings on to hawk their snake oil and pop their companies, or for Cramer's own money-making schemes (books, Mexican Restaurant, paid subscriptions). The Street is a terrible website, blaring ads from every crevice and white space. I've never seen a busier page with no real information since my AOL days. It's basically an entire website teasing his other pay properties: Action Alerts Plus, Real Money, and there a probably even more things to sign up for but I gave up looking for content.
Incidentally, his cloud and biotech IPO picks the show after his KING call, QTWO/PCTY/MDWD ("If you can get a pieces of these IPOs I want you in...) went nowhere but down after their one day pop as well. (THNX was actually withdrawn!).
Edit: I have just started Jim Cramer's most recent book - Get Rich Carefully, and it seems that in his writing he continues to deliver a clear and insightful view of trading. I am impressed with his explanations for the newbies, covering futures & sector ETFs and the danger they have posed to the stock market and retail investor; the interplay of stocks & bonds and the power of the Fed. This is what gets me about "TV Cramer," he knows better. Cramer, by his own admission, gets emotional and swept up with market fever easily and maybe the fever pitch schedule of a daily show and appearances doesn't give him enough perpective. When he takes the time to really think it through, when he sits down to write a book he does know a lot about the market.
*1 Television informercial guru Kevin Truedau sentenced to 10 years